zzzzz

deciding which self to be true to

"Be true to yourself"

Sure, but what does that mean?
What if my "self" has many truths?
What if some of these truths are contradictory?
How is one to decide which self is worth being true to, and which ones are better off swept away?

Well, that's the hard part. We have to choose.
We must look within and pick the pieces of ourselves that we think best serve us, let the rest fall to the wayside, and be at peace with those decisions.

This is easier said than done, I know, but I think it's well worth the effort.
I do not want to be an ill-assorted collection of a person - I want to have a cohesive sense of self. I want to know who I am, and know that I chose it.

I state this as if I have any experience making these decisions, but really, the only truths I know right now are these:
I am painfully indecisive,
and I must rectify that.

Reply via email